Dempsie B. Morrison Scholarship Fund

Dempsie B. Morrison, Jr., FCSI, was a practicing architect and teacher of architectural technology and specification writing at State Technical Institute in Memphis, Tennessee (now Southwest Tennessee Community College) and additionally, he practiced as a specifications consultant.  He was active in the Memphis Chapter of CSI, serving as Chapter President in 1962, followed by his service as editor of the newsletter, and he chaired numerous committees.  He served the Region (Region 5 as it was known) for three years as Director, followed by two terms as Institute Vice President.

His untimely death in an accident provided valid reason for the Memphis Chapter to create the Dempsie B. Morrison Scholarship in his memory.  An agreement with Memphis State University (now University of Memphis) providing up to one full year’s tuition matched by the University was signed by the Chapter and the University in December 1979.
The Vision of the Memphis Chapter founders of the Dempsie B. Morrison Fund was to create a fund through contributions, which would grow large enough to support the provision of a perpetual annual awarding of a scholarship, paid solely by the interest from the fund, leaving the principal intact.  Growth in the principal by contributions might generate interest which would result in additional scholarship awards in the future.   The scholarship awards sent to the University would be paid from current year receipts (the general fund) until such time as the fund reaches an amount large enough to create earned interest sufficient to pay for the annual scholarship.  This interim funding is intended to permit our continued awarding of scholarships in years when scholarship receipts are not sufficient to pay for the scholarship.
The Support, by the Memphis Chapter, of the Dempsie B. Morrison Scholarship Fund has included two sponsorships per meeting, individual and corporate contributions (large and small), interest earned on the scholarship deposits, and funds from Chapter surplus rollovers in years when income exceeded expenses.
The Scholarship Fund is managed by the Dempsie B. Morrison Scholarship Fund, Inc., which is 5-member board charged with investing the funds in a fiscally responsible manner to avoid loss, yet earning as much interest as possible in pursuit of the Memphis Chapter vision that might support a full scholarship through fund earnings.  Funds will consist of investment Certificates of Deposit and a bank savings account.  Accumulations of funds are from interest earned and from private contributions from individuals and companies.
Funds dedicated to the Memphis Chapter vision for the Dempsie B. Morrison Scholarship Fund are not available for other Chapter uses.  The balance has grown through contributions of many; however it has not yet reached its goal of the fund interest paying for the annual scholarship award.
Focus on the Vision by members and the Board of Directors of the Memphis Chapter is crucial for the continued growth of the Dempsie B. Morrison fund toward its goal and for the continued payment of annual scholarship awards from the general fund until it is reached.

To make a donation by check Download the Donation Form

To make a donation by credit card, click the link below.

Donate Now

Current Recipient - Under-Graduate Student Hana Abdelraouf

Current Recipient - Under-Graduate Student Hana Abdelraouf

Current Recipient - Graduate Student Brock Terwilleger

Current Recipient - Graduate Student Brock Terwilleger



Current Recipients
Hana Abdelraouf
Brock Terwilleger

Past Recipients
Nestor Lobos
Jules Byers
Sarah Hawkins
George Burns
Ben Cooper
George Burns
Dustin Collins
Thomas Elliot
Hai Ly
Kasia Zycinska
Kate Bidwell
Alzbeta Bowden
Lauren Chapman
James Morrison
Chris Ashbrand                             Jennifer Clark
Chris Qualls
Theresa Crampton
Duke Walker
Robin Saunders
Matt Trimble
Zach Smith
Janette Michelle Gilliam
Brenda Page
Mary Summers
Brett Hirsch
Aaron Vermeulen
Tanya Guidry
Tony Pellicciotti
Jason Ontiveros
Christen Ayoub

2018-2019 Donors

Dempsie Morrison
Dillard Door & Secuirity
Duke Walker
Mary Haizlip
Michael Cardone
Mike and Kathy Zielinski
The Crump Firm


Brg3s Architects
Charles Cooper
Digital Now
Emilie and Russell Ward
Gary and Grace Copeland
Jim and Carol Neison
National Guard Products
Pickering Firm
Ray Cahoon
Ron and Pam Shirley

ETFC Architects
John and Shirley Bigham
Kate Haywood
Susan Evans

Byron and Diane Graves

2017-2018 Donors

Dillard Door & Security
Farrell-Calhoun Paint
John & Shirley Bigham
Looney Ricks Kiss
Mike & Kathy Zielinski
The Crump Firm – in Memory of John D. Norman

Duke Walker
Fleming Architects
National Guard Products

Duke Walker
Emilie & Russ Ward – in Memory of Dempsie Barney Morrison, III
Jim and Carol Neison
Digital Now
Ron & Pam Shirley
Pickering Firm
Ryan Hatler
Terri Struminger
Scott & Tanya Guidry

Allen & Hoshall
Armstrong Ceilings
Gary & Grace Copeland
Jerry Durham     - in Memory of Dan Brewer
Kate Haywood
Kenneth Hudson
Syd Miller

Byron and Diane Graves
Jay and Marcia Sweeney


Michael Zielinski
President - Chairman of Board
Jeffrey Parnell
Vice President - Academic Affairs
Chris Bird
Vice President
Gary Copeland
Kate Haywood

Non-voting                                      James A. Neison                         Financial Advisor  Registered Agent

Pam Davidson                               Advisor to Board    

Hans Faulhaber                             Advisor to Board